Euro 2024 referees: Anthony Taylor, Stuart Attwell, Jesus Gil Manzano among officials selected

4 Min Read

The referees for this summer’s European Championship in Germany have been confirmed.

They include English quartet Anthony Taylor (pictured), Michael Oliver, Stuart Attwell and David Coote, the latter two having been selected as a video assistant referee for the tournament.

UEFA referee’s committee has named 19 referees, plus their referee assistant teams and video match officials for the 51 matches this summer.

The appointment of Attwell 41, and Taylor, 45, comes two days after the two officials were criticised by Nottingham Forest for their failure to award three penalties during the club’s 2-0 loss to Everton in the Premier League.

Forest released a statement on social media questioning the integrity of VAR Attwell, who they claimed they had raised concerns over with English officiating body Professional Game Match Officials Limited (PGMOL) due to him supporting Luton Town, a side one point and one place below Nottingham Forest in the Premier League’s final relegation place.

Taylor and Oliver have again been selected to represent the Premier League at a major tournament, after the two oversaw matches at the 2022 Qatar World Cup and Euro 2020. Taylor will be assisted by Gary Beswick and Adam Nunn, while Stuart Burt and Dan Cook will assist Oliver.



Nottingham Forest’s furious tweet: What happened and why did they post it?

German referee Felix Zwayer, who received a six-month ban for his involvement in a match-fixing scandal in 2005, has also been appointed by UEFA. England midfielder Jude Bellingham, meanwhile, was fined €40,000 by German football officials in December 2021 for his comments about Zwayer after Borussia Dortmund’s 3-2 defeat by Bayern Munich.

Jesus Gil Manzano, the referee responsible for blowing the full-time whistle moments before Bellingham headed in what he thought was a last-minute winner for Real Madrid against Valencia in March, will also be at the Euros.

Gil Manzano was at the centre of Real Madrid's 2-2 draw at Valencia last month (Jose JordanAFP via Getty Images)

Gil Manzano was at the centre of Real Madrid’s 2-2 draw at Valencia last month (Jose JordanAFP via Getty Images)

Polish official Szymon Marciniak, who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final and 2023 Champions League final, receiving particular widespread praise for his performance in the former, will also be among the 19 referees at this summer’s tournament.

Other officials include the Swede Glenn Nyberg, who took charge of Arsenal’s Champions League quarter-final first leg against Bayern Munich which saw the German side not awarded a penalty for a perceived handball by Gabriel, and Romania’s Istvan Kovacs, who refereed Paris Saint-Germain’s quarter-final second leg against Barcelona.

In addition to the 18 UEFA referees, Argentinian referee Facundo Tello and his assistants Gabriel Chade and Ezequiel Brailovsky have also been selected for the tournament “as part of the co-operation between UEFA and the South American Football Confederation CONMEBOL”.

Euro 2024 takes place between June 14 and July 14.

Euro 2024 referee appointments

  • Artur Soares Dias (Portugal)
  • Jesus Gil Manzano (Spain)
  • Marco Guida (Italy)
  • Istvan Kovacs (Romania)
  • Ivan Kruzliak (Slovakia)
  • Francois Letexier (France)
  • Danny Makkelie (Netherlands)
  • Szymon Marciniak (Poland)
  • Halil Umut Meler (Turkey)
  • Glenn Nyberg (Sweden) 
  • Michael Oliver (England)
  • Daniele Orsato (Italy)
  • Sandro Schärer (Switzerland)
  • Daniel Siebert (Germany)
  • Anthony Taylor (England)
  • Facundo Tello (Argentina)
  • Clement Turpin (France)
  • Slavko Vincic (Slovenia)
  • Felix Zwayer (Germany)

(Top photo: Chandan Khanna/AFP via Getty Images

Source link

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *